ROSETTA Sign To Pelagic Records!



To Release – “Precambrian”

10th Anniversary Edition





Utopioid is the sixth full-length from Philadelphia’s ROSETTA. Written as a four-part song cycle that treads multipolar extremes of texture and dynamics, it reaches the highest heights and the deepest lows of the band’s career and serves as their most concept-driven work to date. An unflinching study of human aspiration frailty and betrayal the album is equal parts mysticism and the band’s own biographyencapsulating and transcending their fourteen years of sonic experimentation.

Initially released earlier this year independently by the band, Pelagic will be releasing the captivating release on limited edition vinyl and CD.

Get a copy HERE

Stream the record now!

Formed in Philadelphia in 2003 as a four-piece, ROSETTA’s first two albums — 2005’s The Galilean Satellites and 2007’s Wake/Lift — pulled together elements from ’90s hardcore, drone, doom, and atmospheric sludge metal. Informed as much by the minimal soundscapes of Stars Of The Lid as by the pulverizing weight of Godflesh, the band’s compositions had a spaced-out, exploratory feel, appropriately dubbed “metal for astronauts.” 2010’s A Determinism Of Morality moved on from celestial themes, focusing on increased melodic sophistication while honing a confrontational urgency.

After concluding a decade-long partnership with Translation Loss Records in 2013, ROSETTA embraced their newfound independence with the self-funded, pay-as-you-wish album The Anaesthete. The darkest, most unsettling album of the band’s career also marked their greatest success so far, recouping costs in twenty-four hours and remaining the top-selling release on Bandcamp for nearly a month. 2015’s Quintessential Ephemera, ROSETTA’s first effort as a five-piece, received widespread critical and audience acclaim for its energized guitar interplay and evolution of the band’s core sound.

With Utopioid, ROSETTA has again upended their stylistic palette. But as always, with ever deeper gratitude for the investment of fans around the world, they continue to search for the intersection of heaviness and beauty.

Apparently when somebody is close to death by asphyxiation, they will experience a euphoric high as they begin to lose consciousness. A similar sensation may be felt by listening to Utopioid, a soundtrack for floating in the cosmos, without the risk of actually having to suffocate oneself-or, for those who happen to be an astronaut, without having to remove one’s helmet in the middle of deep space.” — Bandcamp Daily  


The Galilean Satellites (2005) • Wake/Lift (2007) • A Determinism of Morality (2010) The Anaesthete (2013) • Quintessential Ephemera (2015) • Utopioid (2017)

Michael Armine, David Grossman, Eric Jernigan, Bruce McMurtrie Jr., and J. Matthew Weed

1. Amnion
2. Intrapartum
3. Neophyte Visionary
4. King Ivory Tower
5. C – 54543
6. Détente
7. Hypnagogic
8. Qohelet
9. Intramortem


Follow Rosetta






To Release – “Precambrian” 10th Anniversary Edition 3xLP – March 18


Few albums still feel relevant, fresh and contemporary-sounding, 10 years after their original release.

THE OCEAN’s Precambrian, originally released in November 2007, is one such case: the band’s musically most mature and versatile album to that date, Precambrian is distinguished by complex yet intimate songwriting, huge orches- trations, subtle electronic textures and immense harmonic and dynamic density. With guests appearances by Caleb Scofield (CAVE IN, OLD MAN GLOOM), Nate Newton (CONVERGE), Tomas Hallbom (BREACH) Eric Kalsbeek (ex- TEXTURES) and musicians from the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra, Precambrian remains a career-defining milestone for the band, and still a fan’s favourite.

While THE OCEAN have been focusing on their latest album Pelagial on recent tours, the band will be kicking off a revisitation of Precambrian with a headline set at DOOM OVER LEIPZIG Festival on April 21, 2018, where they will be performing the album in its entirety — possibly even more than just a random anniversary celebration?

“There is a gap between ‘Precambrian‘ and ‘Heliocentric‘, both conceptually and musically… and it’s a tempting idea to fill that gap with a new album, that would connect the two”, Robin Staps comments.

The 10th anniversary edition of Precambrian comes with a bonus track: a brand new studio re-recording of 10-minutes opener Rhyacian, featuring the current lineup with Loic Rossetti on vocals, Paul Seidel on drums and Mattias Hägerstrand on bass.


Side A:
1.) Hadean / The Long March of the Yes-Men
2.) Eoarchaean / The Great Void
3.) Paleoarchaean / Man and the Sea

Side B:
4.) Mesoarchaean / Legions of Winged Octopi
5.) Neoarchaean / To Burn the Duck of Doubt

Side C:
1.) Siderian
2.) Rhyacian / Untimely Meditations
3.) Orosirian / For the Great Blue Cold Now Reigns

Side D:
4.) Statherian
5.) Calymmian / Lake Disappointment

Side E:
6.) Ectasian / De Profundis
7.) Stenian / Mount Sorrow

Side F:
8.) Tonian / Confessions of a Dangerous Mind
9.) Cryogenian
10.) Rhyacian (2017 studio version)



• 3 LPs in 3 different vinyl colour style
• gatefold with 9mm spine, diecut holes, special metallic inks, UV spot gloss varnish
• 3 printed inner sleeves, 2 inlay sheets
• download code






AMNplify EH